SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_917083989

Did my hardwood flooring installer do a good job?

Aaron La
3 years ago

On Sunday, I had an new floor installed to replacing carpeting in a ~350 sqft room, in a vacant house I have just purchased as my first home in California. The material is 3/4" x 5" solid cumaru ("Brazilian Teak"), of Peruvian origin, prefinished, from a local, well-regarded distributor. The only brand name I have is "Senza Tempo Collection." From what I can tell, it did not come with any instructions.

Right after it was installed, I thought everything looked absolutely lovely. But then as I started to look closer, I found a bunch of small imperfections, and I'm starting to wonder about the quality of the work. I have zero background in hardwood though, so I'm really not sure; are all of these things I found normal?

The installer is a local guy who employs a number of other people to help him; he was not present at the install. He has absolutely solid, glowing Yelp reviews, 5 stars all the way, and is licensed. I expected top-notch work.

First, overall shot. Looks great huh?

1. Big arsed end gap

My euphoria faded in a hurry when I found this one, right in the entryway:

Looks like the chop saw was off a few degrees here, and the installer didn't notice or didn't care. Fortunately, this is the worst one, but it's right by the entryway. I noticed it, and wasn't even looking for problems. But there's a few other places too that needed to be filled.

2. Bucking at the final plank

Once I actually started hunting for problems, the first thing I noticed is some pretty substantial buckling at the last plank:

3. Squeaks