SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
2manydiversions

Pellet Tube Smoker in Gas Grill Review for ann_t, or anyone else

2ManyDiversions
6 years ago

Ann T, you asked me to share my opinion on the pellet tube smoker once I used it, and thought I’d share it with everyone here.

Preface #1: I’m a novice at grilling, but after posting athread requesting grilling help I received so much wonderful advice, recipes, and tips – thank you everyone! My grilling experiences and repertoire have improved by leaps and bounds! Also, Steve J recommended a leave-in thermometer which has been so useful!

Preface #2: I don’t have a smoker so I’m unable to compare this to a smoker.

Preface #3: As some of you know we are undergoing demo/reno in our kitchen and home and the past 2 weeks have been rather taxing, and I’m cooking in a temp kitchen, so I’ve made some dumb mistakes, taken some bad photos… please forgive!

In a link ann_t posted on a new toaster oven dcarch mentioned the A-MAZE-N-TUBE smoker which piqued my interest (thank you so much dcarch!), so after some research I bought the Premium Pellet Smoker Tube 12" on Amazon, choosing it over the A-Maze-N tube because it’s hexagon shaped rather than round, and I could see myself accidentally hitting the round tube and it rolling off the grill onto my feet leaving me with an unpleasant burn (because I am that accident prone!)

After more research, I bought Lumber Jack 100-Percent Hickory Wood BBQ Grilling Pellets.

What I’ve read but can’t attest to:

1) Tubes put off more smoke than trays and some consider to be better in gas grills as they don’t hold smoke as well as smokers. There are several sizes, some are expandable as well. A 12” would be minimum for me.

2) You can cold smoke cheese and salmon in a gas grill with the pellet tubes – with success.

3) People often cold smoke steaks, chops, and fish to enhance flavor prior to grilling – follow safe smoking guidelines.