SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
oceanna_gw

Please help me pull this bath redo together? (Lots of pics)

oceanna
12 years ago

I'm redoing my main hall bath, the one guests use, the one that would be the kids' bath if there were kids living here. For those here who don't know me, I love antiques, updated a little. As a professional artist I love rooms that are interesting and make my female friends say "oooo that's pretty!"

I just finished putting up the white painted beadboard (yes it's Graham and Brown wallpaper), topped by a white chair rail. I love how it brightens up this dark room.

Please excuse the mid-redo mess! I'm not a good visualizer, so I tend to decorate by trial and error and just keep repainting rooms till I get them right. Not kidding, I painted my bedroom 5 times in two years and I still don't like it.

So, first I turned the upper wall pale aqua, and bought yummy towels to go with it. I wanted to do a grey/white carera marble look on the floor and the counter and that's where I ran into (mainly) budget troubles in finding what I wanted. Champagne taste on a beer budget. So then I ran across the ad for the granite in CL and fell for it, but it didn't go with the aqua, nor do my new towels, which I can't return because I used them. Then I experimented mixing old paint that was in the garage and wasn't happy with any of the results, so then I thought of wallpaper. I think I will turn the ceiling back to white in any event. This room has no window, so it's a dark cave.

METAL - Faucets silver/white; light above mirror brass; towel/tp holders brass and silver; cabinet handles brass/white. Silver metal around the antique oval design-etched glass shower doors. The mix of gold/brass and chrome/silver looks good to me.

I just found a good deal on this silver-plated art nouveau hand mirror in a local antique shop. It's in exquisite shape for its age, and I'm very excited about it: