Splat - seeded bread - high hydration dough

agmss15

I added seeds to sourdough bread recently which went over very well with my mom’s household. I decided to follow a specinfix recipe to make it again.

I followed foodgeek’s recipe which adds soaked seeds to dough by lamination. It was a somewhat sticky dough that had nice gluten development. Then I added the drained soaked seeds (a mix of sesame, poppy, pumpkin and sunflower). It got positively goopily sticky. I followed the rest of the directions except I added an extra stretch/fold/rest to see if it would tighten up again. Nope. The loaves were shaped, rolled in more seeds, risen overnight in the fridge.

They rose nicely, popped easily from the bannetons (fingers had been crossed) and immediately oozed out. Luckily they didn’t really deflate. I was amused/concerned and proceeded to baked them. I ended up with two very pretty rustic uhm frisbees. Lol.

The bread is absolutely delicious. I am still learning how to handle wet wet doughs. I will definitely try again. But I can’t quite convey my mix of amusement and distress as the dough oozed out....

SaveComment11Like
Comments (11)
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
wednesday morning

Treat is as a flatbread. I bet it tastes wonderful!

You can use if for open faced sandwich or just have it with some vegetables and cheese or dunk it into something wonderful.

You might find that you like it enough to do it again, just like that. Really, it looks like it would be delightful!

Save    
nancyofnc

Sometimes our wandering gives us great results. I would eat that bread in a minute - like the whole thing!!! I love nuts and seeds, can't abide granola gunk, love sturdy bread. Looks like you found a winner - do you think you could ever repeat it????

Save    
Lars

Looks good to me. Maybe you could transform it into a focaccia. I like seeds in bread, but not nuts, unless I'm using it for French toast.

Save    
plllog