Husbands relationship with his ex step son

HU-249048672

I’m new to these kind of things, but I’m struggling and figured I might get some good advice.

So I’ve been with my husband for a year and a half now. I have a 3 year old daughter, he has a 6 year old daughter, and an 8 year old ex step son from a previous marriage Of nearly 5 years.

I also have an ex step daughter who is 6.

At the beginning of our relationship, he was still seeing his ex step son when he would get his daughter on the weekends.

Ex step son started acting rude, demanding and otherwise pretty hard to be around. It was obvious he didn’t respect my husband at all. (His mother is VERY childish, likes to tell both of the kids made up stories about me and my husband)

so I know most of this has a lot to do with her behavior. BUT.. his behavior got so bad that eventually my husband decided that if ex step son didn’t want to actually spend time with us, then there was no reason for him to continue coming over on weekends.

My husbands mother is completely against this idea. And forcefully tries to bring the ex step son around us any chance she gets. And will get mad at my husband if he doesnt agree with what she’s doing. So shes Making this extremely difficult. But my husband is an only child, who is very much a mommas boy so I know she’s making him feel guilty.