Sourdough starter for dummies...

jerzeegirl (FL zone 9B)

Would someone please post a recipe or link to recipe for a sourdough starter? I have never worked with a starter before and would love to try it, but I need a beginner version. Appreciate it.

SaveComment35Like
Comments (35)
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
plllog

Beginner or pro, it's the same. There's a lot of misinformation out there, however, which can make it difficult. No matter your source, the yeast that you'll have once the starter is mature and lively is the same kind of yeast. People will tell you that isn't true, that there's terroir and all that, but that's only true when it's very young, and the yeast that rises is the same--it's the other fungi and bacteria that are different.

Rye is ridiculously easy to catch yeast from, so my "beginner" advice is to start with rye berries (i.e., whole rye grains). From the bulk bin is better than from a little packet because the latter could be cleaned, etc., but it will probably work also.

It's also easiest if you have a scale, and use grams to simplify the math. You also need a way to grind up the rye berries--if you don't have a grain mill, a coffee grinder or spice mill will work, but put a small handful of rye through first and discard to clean it as much as possible. Or a small food processor. Or even a blender and sieve.

You'll also need a couple of clear glass measuring cups or small glass bowls, a small scraper, masking tape and plastic wrap. There are substitutions possible if you don't have or don't like any of these. You also need a big bag of flour, i.e., starter food. This is the kind of flour you expect to bake bread with, i.e., I assume wheat white bread flour, though if you run out and need to feed you can use pastry, cake, AP or whatever you have. White is easier to get your starter going with. You can transition to whole wheat later, and you can keep a white and a whole wheat starter if you like. Later.