SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
tslava

Please review my new home design

7 years ago

We're in a process of designing our new home located in Texas. We're a family of 5 people (2 teenagers and a baby) and GS dog. I'm not a professional architect, so I based my design on the plan that I found online. The house is 2 story, about 4,200 sq. ft., has 5 bedrooms (4 are upstairs), game room, bar, media/bed room, 4 full bath, 1 half bath, 3 car garage, carport, and safe room. We're nearing the final design, and I'll appreciate if you can give me your thoughts, suggestions, and comments (good and
bad) before we finalize the plans. Thanks in advance.

Comments (30)

• 7 years ago

The first thing that caught my eye was that your bed is only going to be a few feet away from the stairs and back hallway. All I know is that my 6ft 200 lb teen could not walk or use stairs quietly, even if his life depended on it!!

• Related Discussions

Please review and critique my house plan design

Q

Comments (1)
    You must be excited! Most of it works quite well. I have a few thoughts: Are you planning on your son and daughter sharing a bathroom? Is bedroom #4 a guest bedroom? If you have 3 bathroom, why not give each of your children their own? especially since they are different sexes and getting older. I would make bath #2 an en suite bath for bedroom #3. Swap the laundry room and bathroom #3. Then bedroom #2 can use bath #3. You can keep direct access to bath #3 from bedroom #4 if you'd like. The dining space in the family room looks tight. Make sure it fits your table. Make sure there's enought elbow room for the toilet in the master bath. The door from the garage should swing into the home.
    ...See More

Please review my layout - new build

Q

Comments (13)