SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
nicolevabre

Any success withStormy Weather climbing rose in zone 4?

Nicole Vabre
8 years ago

Hi All,

Still on the search for a hardy climbing rose for zone 4. Currently have one William Baffin & would love a bit of variety, plus a color that will "pop" against an orangey brick home & came across Stormy Weather in my search (purply blue in cooler temps?).

However, I can't find much info on its actual hardiness & climbing ability in temps of zone 4 or cooler & info I DO find is mixed - some say it's hardy only to zone 5 or 6...

Other specs I'd love in a climbing rose (MUST be a climber): recurrent/repeat bloom, fragrance isn't a priority, cane & crown hardy (can do winter protection if needed), disease resistant & a color that stands out against orangey brick!

Btw, I'm a beginner when it comes to roses, so the easier the the care the better!

Thank you much, friends!

Nicole

Comments (76)

• User
    8 years ago

Congratulations on your purchase. Now the patience game starts.
    As for clematis, you're better off asking on theClematis Forum.

If you plant Multi-blue, it's flowering will overlap WB. It will flower also in September.

I grow Multiblue with Quadra. Multiblue (group II) starts flowering at the end of May, and Quadra at the 11th of June. They overlap.
    It flowers with single petals in September again, if I don't prune it. Multiblue is around 8' tall and 2' wide.

However, over time, it is possible that Quadra overwhelms Multiblue. From what I've read William Baffin will do the same. So they must be planted judiciously.

It all depends, if you want the wow factor in June (Roses and Clematis) and then sporadic flowering for the rest of the season or a more or less continuous flowering, for June, July August and September....

Nicole Vabre thanked User
  • nippstress - zone 5 Nebraska
    8 years ago