SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
chris_in_the_valley

Let's Introduce Ourselves

Look at all the new posters this summer! Welcome to you all! Let's introduce ourselves.

I'm a retired engineer and will read almost anything. I very much like to stay on top of the latest well regarded novels (as opposed to the latest best sellers - but I confess a great enjoyment of The DaVinci Code). I love science fiction, mysteries, historical novels, .... I read a lot of non-fiction in science, history, public policy, and gardening. Gave up philosopy a quarter century ago. Big fan of graphic novels. Recently rediscovered a love of classical writers and I'm working my way slowly through Herodotus.

Comfort reading: Georgette Heyer's romance novels

Most recent enthusiasm: Neal Stephenson

Last novel to put me in the Zone: Hemmingway's The Old Man and the Sea

Comments (150)

• cindydavid4
    18 years ago

I was browsing the older threads and found this one. Since I'm a newbie, thought I'd pop this up to the top and see if others also need to be introduced.

My name is Cindy. I am 49 and actually looking forward to my 50th birthday (my sis turns 60 the same month and we plan a major sistah trip to Broadway!) I live in a suburb of Phoenix Ariz with my husband and five cats. Our house is filled with books (mostly mine) and toys (mostly his). I teach preschool children with hearing loss. Love my job - just wish I lived someplace with seasons! I have been in another online forum for 6 years. Love how many books and authors I have discovered there, despite the groans I hear in my bookshelves at night!

(btw, kennebunker, I also attented UofAz, from 1974-79, and 1983-5. When were you there?)

I read just about anything, but love historic fiction as well as sci fi/fantasy. But if a book has a good story, complex characters, and scenes I remember long after I have read them, than its fine by me.