SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
nhb22

My latest project ~ Mirror in Kitchen

nhb22
16 years ago

DH and I haven't decided if we are going to stay or sell our current home (been in 19 months now), so we are hesitant to put any more money into her.

During the initial build, we did not tile the kitchen back-splash. If I could do it myself to save money, I would. However, I have no experience with tile work...especially the cutting.

Instead, I came up with the idea to put a mirror behind the cook-top after seeing a mirror behind a bar at a friends home.

What do you think? Yes, I know I will be cleaning it of grease and splashes, but I really don't cook that often. :)

Before:

After:

{{!gwi}}

{{!gwi}}

Comments (38)

• mlraff53
    16 years ago

I would have said no way but after seeing your pics it looks ALOT better than I imagined. There are alot of things you could put there. A mirror wouldn't have been my first choice but since it's already there and it looks great, I say leave it.
    If you're still interested in doing a backsplash, you could use tin. They sell tin panels (I think they are more plastic than tin) at lowes and hd (kitchen area). You can cut them easily and just stick to the wall. They would look really nice in your kitchen. But if you don't want to add any more money, then I love the mirror. Besides, I see that you have some bronze figures already there so it all looks good together.
    Personally, I say "great imagination".

• magothyrivergirl
    16 years ago

I cut thru an interior wall and put in an octagon stain glass window w/ clear decorative glass above my cook top. I am not suggesting you do that! The affect is a mirror / reflection of the window directly across the room which overlooks the water. That said, I like your mirror idea very much; I just do not care for the