SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ravencajun

MS update KB951748 and ZoneAlarm --- PROBLEM

For those of you using Zone alarm firewall and some other firewalls as well might want to block todays Windows update number KB951748 till it can be re-released with a fix.

It has caused many people's computers to loose their internet connections once it was installed.

Here is info from dslreports Quote:

"For those of you using ZoneAlarm who installed the windows updates today, you probably already know that your internet connection has died. It appears that KB951748 made changes to the networking files that ZA doesn't see/recognize.

After two hours of messing around, I found an inelegant solution that will work temporarily ... set the Internet Zone Security permission slider from high to medium. The connection will be restored.

I discovered this after I finally figured out ZA was blocking my internet connections, and turned it off. Once everything worked again as normal, I started playing around and hit on this lowered permission setting.

I imagine the ZA forum will be full of better solutions, but thought this would get you back up and running in the short term."

ZoneAlarm is investigating the issue with Microsoft update KB951748

here is the ongoing discussion at dslreports for those that care to follow along.

MS update KB951748

Some have reported that un-installing za and re-installing did not help. At this time the 2 options seem to be to either remove that particular windows update if you got it or set your za to medium. I am sure there will soon be a fix for the update so I am just going to hold tight and wait for it.

Comments (52)

• owbist
    15 years ago

It will be interesting to see if MS or Zonealarm create a fix, probably Zonealarm

• fruitjarfla
    15 years ago