SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
marian_m

Does anybody else open-kettle can?

marian-m
17 years ago

I am a newbie to this forum and just wondering if I am the only one who still open-kettle cans? I realize the recommended method is to at least waterbath but in all honesty, I have never had a problem with sealing or food spoilage. This is the method I was taught by. Just curious about how others can. Thanks.

Comments (38)

• harriet05
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

do you mean you dont process after filling the jars?

• gw:marian-m
    17 years ago

No, I don't process after filling. However, open-kettle can't be used for every fruit and vege. Some MUST be processed or pressure canned. When I open-kettle, I basically am sterilizing and cooking everything before packing.

• Related Discussions

does anybody else watch american idol?

Q

Comments (104)
    We've not enjoyed the show on tv so much in ages, made me think once again how great it'd be to have more entertaining and little less competition, to bring best of Idols and have some extra fun for everyone. No matter, all are winners, except me and especially my daughter, will be listening to Katherine and my younger daughter to Chris (her forever Idol). I think Taylor got the votes for being a friendly country guy -if the show was about congeniality he'd get my votes, he had fun and made us join in the fun, appearing more self-confident- a few years older helps, even if he was at times comical with his dances-we can all use more fun. It reminded us of the times when the "She Bangs" guy was picked as the winner on line, lol. We're fine with the fact Katherine took the 2nd place- it's almost or as grand as the top. Her voice will sing for itself. Wish we didn't have to wait so long for more Idol, GB
    ...See More

Can blueberry or raspberry syrup be open kettle canned safely?

Q

Comments (7)