SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
yme405

New to FL Gardening... Seed starting questions

Yme405
12 years ago

Hello Florida Gardeners,

This is my first year gardening, second season. My first attempt was in containers and I had some success but mostly failure. I've been lurking on the forums here, reading as much as I can for about 6 months now and learned SO much. Combining what I have learned here with the information through UF (EDIS) and finally figuring out there's a gardening section specific to Florida not located in the traditional gardening section at my local library - I have identified that the largest thing I did wrong was seed selection and my timing was off. The fact that I was able to actually harvest anything last season gives me hope though, since it seems I was really lucky.

This season, my neighbor has allowed me the use of some of the empty lot between our houses for a raised bed garden. So I have gone research crazy, built my bed and am starting seeds that are supposed to be much more suited to our conditions. And that leads me to my request for advice and experiences.