SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
eyesofthewolf

Question about resources

eyesofthewolf
14 years ago

I am new to canning but not to Garden Web. I have planted more than we can eat fresh so hence the need to learn how to can my harvest.(I hope I have a good one lol.) I came accross canningUSA dot com, It was basic but good, are there others with videos that I didn`t find? I of course want safety to be my number one goal. And on a side note I really want pretty glass jars I think Ball is rather plain. Do their lids and rims fit other glass jars made from different companies? I will have many many bushels of pears( my pear tree which is 20 years old is going to have a bumper crop I never saved any before I just let them rot bad me) tomatoes, peppers to be canned, the other stuff will be for fresh eatting. All info is appreciated.:o)Deanna

Comments (26)

• Linda_Lou
    14 years ago

All regular canning jars are made by the same company. Ball, Kerr and Golden Harvest. The lids and rings are all interchangeable on them.

Be sure you get your info from reliable resources. The CanningUSA.com has some unsafe recipes and methods.
    There are some videos on the National Center For Home Food Preservation site. You can order a dvd set from them that you may find helpful.
    They are the leading authority on safe food preserving.

Here is a link that might be useful: NCHFP

• warren4321
    14 years ago

Do their lids and rims fit other glass jars made from different companies?

---

It depends, but generally yes. There used to be 4 standard mason jar sizes in north america until Jarden bought up several canning jar companies and killed the competition. Narrow, Regular, Gem, and Wide. Now there are 2 standard sizes: Regular and Wide. It is nearly impossible to get Narrow and Gem snap lids anymore, except occasionally at some warehouses, etc. selling new old stock.