SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
armyyife

A little scared and a bit frustrated

armyyife
13 years ago

I'm a rose newbie, been gardening with antique roses for less than 5 years and most of my roses are 4 years or less. I grow noisettes, chinas, teas, and hyb musks. When I first started out I had used the size descriptions from the sites such as ARE or Ashdown. Then I found this forum and read and saw that roses in areas such as I live in (Charleston,SC) can get much much larger! I have 16 roses and now I'm scared that in a few years these will be giants taking over everything. I know that isn't exactly a "bad" thing but it is not what I want. I read someone say there Mrs. D Cross got to be 10-15'! Is that even possible??!! Yikes! I have 2 of her.

How do I properly space plants when I'm not sure just how big they will get? Even Paul Zimmerman site had listed the same roses I grow as front of the border roses but if a rose can get 8+ feet how is that a front of the border rose? I'm confused. I mean do you just prune it heavily to keep it in bounds (less than 8') and will the rose still be happy if you do that? I am a cottage gardener and like to incorperate lots of flowers with my roses. I love love love my roses and just ordered 3 more infact but I also love to see my other flowers as well.

Can someone please help me understand. I am a planner not a plonker so for me it it important to get an idea of space and how big the plants will be when they mature. Thanks~Meghan

Comments (29)

• aimeekitty
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago