SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
originalpinkmountain

Help with luncheon menu ideas. Warning, death related

l pinkmountain
3 months ago

Next month marks the ninth anniversary of my Mom's abrupt death. I usually try to busy myself with some kind of positive project during this time. Also, a friend of mine just lost her mother rather abruptly too, so I want to involve her. They just finished building and moving into a lovely home with a mother-in-law suite for her Mom, and then her Mom got diagnosed with advanced colon cancer and was gone two months later. Wo(Man) schemes, God laughs. Anyway, I'm going to invite some of my local childhood friends who are missing their mothers to a luncheon at my house where we can reminisce. I also want to use some of my Mom's vintage servingware.

I need help with the menu because I'm not very good at accommodating picky eaters. My palate is so diverse that even when I think I'm making something plain Jane, it ends up not working out. Like last night I made fruit salad with pears, apples and peaches with some coconut and maraschino cherries, but I used whole vanilla yogurt for a dressing, and my Dad apparently didn't like the taste of the yogurt and literally scraped the dressing off each piece of fruit before he ate it.

So far this is what I have. Ideas and critiques welcome. I want it to be simple though, and largely make ahead.

*Bellinis?? Plain prosecco?

*Salmon mousse on a bed of mixed greens using my Mom's vintage fish mold. I want to do this, but some of my guests might not like fish, period . . . So I need something else for them.

*Rye bread squares

*Kale salad with quinoa and ricotta salata, from Smitten Kitchen. https://smittenkitchen.com/2014/03/kale-and-quinoa-salad-with-ricotta-salata/ Wondering about kale salad maybe being too "out there" for some folks. It's a delicious salad, designed to win over kale skeptics . . .