SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
salonva

From Dark Hair to Naturally Gray - How do you do it?

salonva
5 years ago

I have been coloring my hair for so many years I am honestly not sure how many. My natural color WAS a very dark dark dark brown. I used to say it was as black as a caucasian could be and that pretty much described it .

As I started to go gray, I colored it dark dark brown and then at times medium brown (but it's really dark). My family kept suggesting that I let it go gray and for whatever reason it didn't seem appealing to me. I am really thinking that I would like to try it but how does one do it without looking sorry at the in between stages. Do I just go with it? Do I use temporary color that is lighter?

I know I can use the root touch up sprays for a bit if I want but when more gray is showing is there anything I should consider doing? A lighter color? highlights? or just grin and deal with it?

Yes I have seen beautiful gray(white) hair, and most of the time it seems to me that when it looks great, it is pretty much straight hair accompanied by fairer skin and light eyes. I have medium to dark skin and brown eyes. Oh yes- I also have very curly (kinky) hair.

Anyway, I am seriously considering going gray. I am at the point where the gray roots are starting to come in and normally I would have had an appointment or used root touch up already just to take the gray away.

Comments (91)

• bpath
    5 years ago

So my friend (mentioned up thread) is the only one who just colored her hair her natural incoming color, until it all grew out? She never "transitioned", just went with it in one visit to the salon. Her hair is a really pretty white now.

• carolb_w_fl_coastal_9b
    5 years ago

I wish I could have silver/grey hair - I think it's beautiful!

Mine just keeps getting darker brown w/ a few silver threads scattered throughout, much like my dad's did. He had silver temples by the time he was in his 60s. Maybe that will happen to me.