SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
weirdcatlady

School me on flour.

MizLizzie
6 years ago

Having posted about the weird ginger cake recently, and preparing to make a new quick bread tomorrow, may I ask how and when might a baker substitute types of flour? I keep on hand Swansdown cake flour, KA bread flour, and KA all-purpose. Tomorrow I’m going to use all-purpose because that’s what the recipe calls for. But why doesn’t it call for BREAD flour?

Do you ever swap flour, and if so, when? Do you alter the amounts? I seem to recall being told, for example, that if you sub cake flour for all-purpose, you need to add a couple more tablespoons per cup. Anyway, just curious.

Comments (62)

• annie1992
    6 years ago

No chemistry degree here, that's for sure, my degree is in something completely unrelated, LOL.

People say that baking is an exact science, but I tend to swap, interchange, substitute and generally mess about with everything and it still usually comes out OK. I've never managed to make an edible loaf of bread with 100% homeground whole wheat and eventually just stopped trying, it becomes too involved and I lose interest. I don't really like the flavor of sourdough, so I gave that up too.

Bread is especially forgiving, though. It's flour/water/salt/yeast, but it's never the same twice, it depends on atmosphere, the age of the flour, the ambient temperature, all kinds of things. Somehow it still turns out fine most times, so as soon as you figure out how it should look and feel, you can make it right.

It can be as involved as you want to make it, or so simple that a 7 year old can handle it, which is how old I was when I started baking bread.

Just keep baking!

Annie

• lindac92
    6 years ago

OMG....all this stuff just sounds so hard!!
    People who want to make bread....please don't be discouraged....just mix it up....and you will have bread!!