SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
privacy2me

New to the forum

Hello All,

I'm a newbie in a few ways - new to rose gardening and new to this forum. I'm a male, certainly not the type for roses.

When I bought the house many years ago, there was a wonderfully fragrant pinkish/redish rose bush. It was incredibly fragrant - the scent could be experienced about 15 feet away. Also, there were other roses, about 4 of them that died but a pesky little rose plant never gave up on life. This little rose plant was a fighter. Most years, it never produced a rose and was over run with blackspot.

I decided it was time to plant new things in the gardens around the pool. And so I did. This past January, my local Sam's Club had plenty of roses for sale. Initially bought 5 (assorted - Fragrant Cloud, Irish Masterpiece, Arizona, Kordes Perfecta and John F Kennedy) for the first purchase. I know how some of the fellow forum members feel towards body bag rose and Sam's Club but keep in mind, I was and still am a complete newbie at this. It was while I planted these first 5 roses that I realized how wonderful it was to place a living yet dormant plant in the ground with the hope and expectations it would flourish into a vibrant plant full of rose blossoms, just like in some of those magazines with pictures of the perfect gardens. I'd say the addiction was immediate and to be honest, I really can't explain it to others.