SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
chickencoupe1

Sweet Rolls - How do I do it?

chickencoupe
8 years ago

Hey there. In short, my little girl has chronic acid reflux. I took to learning how to make home made bread (among other things) in order to eliminate additives in her diet through her favorite foods. To make things harder, I'm poor. I do all this by hand and, truly, I'm forced to use cheap flour. I don't have any way to make this easier. I'm using good yeast.

Yet, I'm still learning and trying to gain consistency in my dough. I can whip up a decent loaf of bread for making grilled cheese sandwiches but no one really wants to use it for regular sandwiches. (all purpose flour, touch of sugar, olive oil, yeast and salt).

I'm excellent at making cinnamon rolls. (all purpose flour, scorched milk, yeast, touch of salt)

One time - and only one time - I was making my cinnamon rolls that ended up being a very soft fluffy texture that almost melted in my mouth. I'm guessing but I think I did multiple rises (because I was busy and kept forgetting, but I"m not certain).

For the life of me I cannot figure out how I did that!! Any suggestions on how I did that? Any links to help me learn the chemistry?

Any cheap solutions to making a great tasting sandwich bread that is strong enough to use while using AP flour, good yeast?

Thanks all

frustrating

Comments (20)

• chickencoupe
    Original Author
    8 years ago

Tx linda Your suggestion of the cinnamon rolls makes sense. The recipe doesn't call for kneading. I believe I'm kneading a bit before rolling it out. Or simply working it too much.

I will try your suggestions this evening. I realize that my own experience can alter things, so I'll give it a try a few times.

Should the milk be scorched? If not, does it matter whether it's cold or at room temp?

• Related Discussions

How do I get rid of Sweet Bubbies/Sweet Bush

Q

Comments (15)