SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jersey21

Gritty Mix question about bark

jersey21
8 years ago

Hi All,

I'm a real newbie here, but have been reading lots of info. I want to make the gritty mix. I've built 2 screens ( one is a 1/4 in and the other is insect screen ). I've purchased chicken grit ( grower size ) and turface mvp. Can anyone recommend a place or brand of pine bark? I've purchased the repti bark from petco, but I believe I read that the size of the bark in the large bag is to big. I checked out the smaller bags, but they seemed to be the same size to me. I really want to do this right and I'm a little nervous about screwing it up, so I would appreciate any help concerning the pine bark. I'm in northern New Jersey btw. Thanks!

Comments (13)

• jodik_gw
    8 years ago

A few suggestions might include any orchid grower/greenhouses if you can find one... sometimes, they will carry different sizes of pine bark. Home improvement stores often carry a ton of different mulch items, but you'll have to check bags carefully for content and size.

Let's see... oh, possibly any hydroponic type stores or garden centers that carry bonsai... or they might be able to recommend somewhere...

I usually mix small batches, so I just buy the small bag of ReptiBark and sift out the larger bits, but I have found fir or pine bark at home improvement centers before.

I wish I lived in your area... I'd be happy to help more if I knew where to look... perhaps someone else can chime in with more info for you... anyone?

jersey21 thanked jodik_gw
  • ewwmayo
    8 years ago
    last modified: 8 years ago

Wish I could help you too about the bark!

It's quite expensive here in Canada and I used reptibark as well (24L bags). The pieces were too big, so I put them through a cheap blender in batches and then sifted accordingly. All other suitable bark I've seen is 2-3x even more $$.

I imagine in NJ you should have much better luck than I do on this side of the border.