SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
buildingcasavega

Long time listener, first time caller...floor plan review

buildingcasavega
8 years ago
last modified: 8 years ago

I have been prowling this forum for quite some time and am now finally ready to make my first post. We are getting closer to finalizing our floor plan and we would like to get any feedback from the smart folks in this forum.

We are building a 4,250 home with a walkout basement. Our primary goal is to maximize the main floor and make the basement only as big as needed. We are primarily one floor living people. If our lot wasn't so perfect, we actually would have built a single story home, but we chose a view over a flatter lot.

We are fairly set on the size of the rooms as we have similar size rooms in our current home and our furniture fits perfectly...it more placement of rooms and flow that we would love feedback on. I hope that the pics aren't too small to read...I am new at this whole forum posting business. If so, I will attempt to make it bigger.

Please let us know what you think. Thank you in advance!

Comments (26)

• chisue
    8 years ago

Not sure why you'd build more house than you want, or have two levels when you only want one... I'd change that killer (no landings) staircase.

I don't understand a laundry near BR #2 -- far from the Kitchen (where I am when I do laundry) and from the MBR (where our laundry originates).

The MBR suite is hard for me to understand. Do you leave the MBR and go into a hallway to get to the MBA, then go through a toilet room to access closets? Do you have a huge shower *with a window*? (Building somewhere warm?) There's a lot of 'nothing' in the middle of the MBA.

Who is living in BR#2, where the bath has two sinks?

• cpartist
    8 years ago

What is your family size? Who is living here? Ages?

First it's too small for me to read measurements. Sorry so I'm not sure of how big each room is.