SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jessay3

Habanero Gold, hot hot hot!

jessay3
17 years ago

Whew! I just finished 2 batches of the Habanero Gold jelly and let me say it's wonderful! But boy is it HOT! Very good with cream cheese and crackers though. Note to self: NEVER EVER EVER lick the spoon of a hot pepper jelly again! I couldn't get enough water! LOL! I think I will try Carol's recipe for the Hot N Sweet Confetti Jelly and see how good it is. Maybe I'll be able to handle that one a little better. Yes, I know, I'm a wimp!

By the way, I used apple cider vinegar in place of the white vinegar because the white vinegar I had was only 4% acidity. That won't mess up the jelling or anything will it? I don't think it will but who knows, I'm still pretty new at this!!

Thanks,

Jessie

Comments (29)

• ksrogers
    17 years ago

Very unusual for white distilled vineger to be lower than 5%. Heinz brand, as far as I know, is always consistent. The cider vinegar may impart a different flavor, but with all that heat, it may not matter. I like using cider vinegar in sweet pickles as they tend to also have several spices that go well with the cider vinegar.

• jessay3
    Original Author
    17 years ago

The super market didn't have the Heinz brand when I bought it and I didn't think to check the acidity until I got home with it. So......used the cider vinegar and the jelly taste pretty good.

Could I use the 4% acidity for making jelly?

Jessie

• Related Discussions

Hot Hot Hot

Q

Comments (6)