SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
tombed_gw

Best plane for my Maple Butcher Top ?? Help !

Tombed
19 years ago

Hello, I'm new in woodworking and I would like to build a 24"x48"x1,5" Maple Butcher top. I want to buy 32 1x2 of Hard maple, with good glue and Tung oil to finish it.

I don't have any electric planer or joiner. I'll only use a manual plane to "ajust" the 32 pieces of wood. Join them with some clamps, and finish it with a sander.

So, i need a plane that will do the job ! There's so many plane from 20$ to 300$ ! I don't have too muche cas and a 40-50$ solution would be great. Possible ? LeeValley have to much choice (http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.aspx?c=1&cat=1&p=41182), I don't know what to choose :/

Please help me !!!

Thanks !

Comments (38)

• Telephone
    19 years ago

Any long plane will serve, IF it is well tuned and sharp. Especially sharp. Do not assume a new plane will be as sharp as possible out of the box.
    Suggest you look up "scary sharp" on the net, and invest in a device that holds the blade at a constant and correct angle. There are lots of diffirent ones. And lots of info on plane tuning and sharpening on the net.
    Have fun!

• Tombed
    Original Author
    19 years ago

I tried to find info, but I really don't know witch plane to choose ? Someone could advise me on a good plane to buy from LeeValley or a store like HomeDepot :-/ ?
    thanks for your tips !

• Related Discussions

Maple butcher block owners - love it or hate it??

Q

Comments (6)