SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
organic_sherry

Should I maintain ties to dysfunctional step family?

organic_sherry
17 years ago

Hello all. I am 39 years old and have been married for 15 years to a terrific husband, and we have two beautiful daughters. While my life now is happy and peaceful, my life when I was a teenager was a very different story; I come from a verbally/emotionally/physically abusive family that includes my father and his wife (my stepmother, although I don't usually refer to her as that), along with my two brothers and my sister. Both my dad and his wife were very abusive in their own unique ways when I was growing up. My stepmother is quite tiny (while myself and my siblings are quite tall), but, if anything, she was even more viciously abusive than my father. It was like being a step-parent brought out the utmost evil in her. I was a good kid, and got straight A's in school, so as soon as I graduated I left home, put myself through college and graduate school, and built my own happy life. I try my best not to mirror the nightmare of my own upbringing on how I bring up my girls. We have a happy, functional family.

What is odd is that while my father and his wife are not socially functional people, the rest of the people in our large extended family are terrific. I enjoy a great relationship with my aunts, uncles, and cousins, and I see them quite frequently. While many of them have told me that they suspected that my dad and his wife abused their kids, from talking to them I have come to realize that they have no clue how bad it really was. I really don't want to go into the details with them because it is just too painful.

Here is my problem: