SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
adrasta

Advice needed about where to draw boundaries with step kids.

adrasta
15 years ago

I guess this is similar to a lot of other posts here but some specific advice would be nice!

My bf and I have been dating for almost 6 months. He is 31, in the process of divorcing his "childhood sweetheart" they were together since they were teenagers and been separated over a year. He has not seen anyone else after her and before me. They have 5 and 7 year old children. I am a child psychologist and work specifically in behaviour management of problem children, effectively like Supernanny. I grew up in a single parent family of 4 children on welfare so I don't believe it is necessary for children to have every toy in the shop or see every movie at the cinema. I think my brothers and sister are much better off for it, and certainly much more creative. I am almost 30 and have had a great career, 2 long term relationships and travelled a lot. Essentially I am ready to settle down and am really looking forward to having a child of my own.

My bf is talking about us moving in together soon, which I would be happy with because we get along very well and have the same ideas for the future.

His children generally like me although they are sometimes funny because of course they want their parents together, and I understand it will take time for them to get used to the situation.

I am very well versed on the generally accepted and "correct" way to manage children, and I can see he is doing things wrong sometimes. For example he gives into them if they whine for chips before dinner, he lets them have fast food if they refuse to eat their dinner/vegetables and he lets them watch unsuitable movies and play violent video games before bed time. The children are reasonably well behaved but are spoilt in my opinion and get too much. I think he feels guilty about the divorce so he spoils them to make up for it because he doesn't know what else to do.