SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
gone_country

really need advice/help with step-parenting issues

gone_country
17 years ago

Hi, this is my first time here and let me say in advance, thank you for allowing me to be here!:)

This could get long....I will try to keep it short as possible so it is easy to read...cuz I need answers and support!

I met my now husband 4 years ago. He had been recently widowed. His LW died after a long and courageous battle with cancer. He was beside her and supporting her 24/7. One of the things they discussed was that she did NOT want my husband to be alone. She wanted him to find another love...and soon. We met and it was wonderful. Our only problem was our children ( I have two and he has six).My kids did not want to move from the city to his small town. His kids did not want dad to be dating at all. We decided to take our chances and hope that they would all evetually adjust. My kids have. They do not live in the home as they grew up and started their own lives.They love their step-dad and treat him with utmost respect. When I moved in after us dating and getting married ( we dated 15 months before getting married, I had moved to his town previous to that but got my own apartment and did not move in until the day of the wedding).At the time I moved in he still had three kids at home ( and three out of the home). From the get-go his three at home got along well with me. Very well. This surprised me as I thought their would be resentment and anger ( and their was....but with the three "adult" children out of the home).We had "normal" stepfamily blending issues. Nothing to overwhelming stressfull.