SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
s_dee_gw

Step Parents - what rights do we really have???? LONG

s.dee
15 years ago

I am fairly new to being a SM to a young man. He is 11 turning 12, and since the BM left my DH a long time ago and moved to the other side of the country, we only see him for the whole summer and holidays (Christmas, Spring Break etc...)

My issue is this:

Whenever we have my SS with us, DH goes above and beyond to make up for time lost, but not by spending time so much as opposed to buying him anything he wants. I have repeatedly told him that in my opinion, he needs to spend half the amount of money and twice the amount of time, or the child will have a poor concept of money and take all the gifts for granted. P.S. We are NOT rich by any means. Also, if he misbehaves, DH rarely punishes him, or when he does, apologizes and never follows through. He's reasons are because he only has him for X number of days and he does not want his son to feel like every time he is with us he is always in trouble and then will not want to come to see him.

Well, BM made sure that the son doesn't want to spend time with him anymore because she has begun to poison his mind and turn the son against us. Now the only reason he goes to see DH is because he thinks he will get something out of him. BM also is trying to get her CS increased because she says cost of living in CA is so high. ???