SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
luvhorses_gw

HVAC for New Construction in Idaho

luvhorses
15 years ago

I'm re-posting this message as new; sorry, I'm a novice contributor & posted on another thread.

Appreciated would be feed back on HVAC for new southern Idaho construction where we have cold winters & hot summers (with low humidity).

House is river-side in the country with 2052 sq feet on main level with vaulted ceiling in great room & open loft of 800+ sq feet. Loft is media/game room, bathroom and small bedroom primarily for guests and grandchildren.

In great room, there will be a gas fireplace and possibly a free-standing small wood stove (old, dead firewood is plentiful locally).

Floors will be concrete poured over foundation/crawlspace so radiant floor heat is considered. We want to complement the radiant floor heat with AC but installation costs of central

air + ducting minus a furnace approaches the cost of a dual-fuel system.

There's the current dilemma. If radiant heat, then what for AC. If dual fuel, which system.

Of course, of 5 HVAC contractor proposals, none completed a requested Man J or Man D. I'm considering doing the calculations with online programs; however, conscientious HVAC contractors should gladly complete that process for appropriate job considerations.

The bids on Lennox, York, Tempstar and Bryant proposed a variety of equipment and sizing. Only the following proposal separately priced equipment from ductwork/labor.

This was the only contractor who bid a Bryant system that I requested based on information gleaned from this website. Another contractor verbally stated the job @ $13,000 but would not provide a written proposal(probably Legacy equip).

Please review the latest proposal: (of course, before any agreements, model #s would be needed).

Equipment: TempStar

1 100,000 BTU 92% gas furnace (n9mp2100j20)

1 5 ton 13 seer r22 hp (n2h360)

1 digital hp thermostat

1 30 ft line set

Total $3,400.

Equipment: Bryant Legacy