SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
raenjapan

Do you see any glaring problems with this plan?

raenjapan
15 years ago

{{gwi:1503014}}From house stuff
{{gwi:1503015}}From house stuff
{{gwi:1503016}}From house stuff

The stats: We're a childless couple and plan to remain so. I'm a writer and painter (hence the upstairs studio). We entertain a fair amount, but always informally. I cook a lot. We've lived in homes with open and non-open floor plans, and vastly prefer open. The game room is mandatory.

The giant sink in the mudroom is an antique that we already have--it's bigger than I'd like but too cool not to use, and not practical for the kitchen. We'll have washer/dryer hookups in that room, and might have a small stacking unit down there.

We probably won't finish the bonus room off the master closet, it will basically just be attic space.

The house will sit on 15 acres of wooded land in Arkansas, which is why I've got the theoretical pool under an overhang close to the house. There will be no way to prevent a huge amount of leaves from getting in otherwise. The pool is kind of a maybe at this point--it would be small and about 4' deep, just kind of a floating-around thing. Again, no kids.

We'll probably have horses, we always have too many dogs, and work outside a lot, so having an outdoor bathroom is nice when you've got muddy boots.

I'd expect us to live here at least 10 years, and maybe much longer, but I don't want any big re-sale problems. I'm 28, hubby's 31.

I drew these plans myself, so it's fairly rough (walls aren't all perfect depth, etc.)

Does anyone see any problems with this? Thanks for any input!

Comments (25)

• sue36
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

"...but I don't want any big re-sale problems..."

Sorry, but I personally see big resale problems with that house. These are the objections I think you might hear from potential buyers:

- no dining room, and the eating area looks a little tight (hard to tell without dimensions).