SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
studly_gw

Does more fertilizer mean lawn requires more water?

studly
15 years ago

I've heard from people and have read that, if you don't fertilize your KBG lawn in the spring and summer (most people say it's OK to fertilize in the fall), the roots will grow deeper and the grass will be more drought tolerant. Is that true, or just a myth?

I'm trying that this year, and there seems to be no difference in water requirements, but my lawn is much more patchy because it lacked fertilizer and didn't grow as much as when I fertilize.

If I want a lawn that is as drought tolerant as possible, so I don't have to do much watering, when should I apply fertilizer? I've always typically avoided fertilizing in the heat of the middle of summer, but is it OK at other times, when it's not so hot?

Comments (24)

• jasper60103
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I'm no expert, but hopefully some will chime in on your question.

FWIW, I live in Minnesota as well, and one thing that helps my yard to be more drought tolerant is to let it grow taller thru July-Aug. I'm not sayin let it grow wild, but mow on the highest setting or next one below.
    Three benefits:
    1) You probably won't have to mow as often,
    2) and you can water less frequently,
    3) and still have a decent looking lawn

• studly
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Good idea ... I've been moving it all spring and summer at about 4 inches tall. Do you mow even higher than that?

• Related Discussions

Should I or Shouldn't I give lawn one more blast of fertilizer?

Q

Comments (8)