SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
johnpaul_bouffard

Kitchen remodel questions help

John B
3 years ago

Hi -

I am remodeling my kitchen and I have several questions. I appreciate everyone's patience wading through all these questions and information and I thank you all in advance. I just bought the house and the previous owner re-did the kitchen 2 years ago, but I don't like how he did the cooking suite (induction cooktop in an island) and I want to upgrade it. I want a gas range or rangetop but I am not sure what size and how to arrange the cooking area. I already have two electric wall ovens (Jenn Air, a convection and a convection/microwave speed oven) that I would like to keep. I am not a professional chef but am a cooking enthusiast and want a high power, professional grade range/rangetop (Wolf or Bluestar).

The wall where I will place the range is 8 feet long. The kitchen is quite large with lots of cabinets on other walls. The fridge/freezer are Jenn-Air column models, both 30" wide.

1. First question: I am trying to decide between

A. 36" range (Wolf DF or Bluestar Platinum or RNB)

B. 48" rangetop (Wolf or Bluestar)

2. Second question:

A. All burners?

B. Combination of burners and griddles or grilles or French top?

C. If I get Bluestar, is it worth buying their $900 reversible grill griddle, or just buy aftermarket layover types.

3. How to arrange the backsplash:

A. Pot filler?

B. Warming shelves vs. pot rack

C. Stainless v. tile v. combination

4. Rest of the kitchen questions:

Open shelves v. cabinets

Prep sink yes or no?

Really thinking a drawer fridge would be handy near the range for often used things like milk cream butter veggies etc. Thoughts?

Thank you all very much.

John

Comments (35)

• PRO
    HALLETT & Co.
    3 years ago