SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
veenagraff

Remodel recs for beach house

V G
12 days ago

Hi! i am new to Houzz but have been a long time reader!

We are about to embark on our dream journey of owning a beach house bungalow :)

The immediate reno we want to do is:

1) paint walls a brighter color - thinking Chantilly Lace by BM

2) redo kitchen: a) paint cabinets white color (probably chantilly lace by BM) top and bottom and add black modern clean hardware, b) remove top cabinets on right and left of sink window, c) backsplash with subway tile, d) add warm wood floating shelves - 1 to 2 on each side of window, e) farm house kitchen sink, f) add pendant light

For now it is black appliances. But would change to stainless steal although not immediately.

Questions I had:

1) would you do backsplash all the way up to ceiling? thinking white subway tile

2) would you do black farmhouse kitchen sink?

3) black pendant hanging light along window?

4) for budget, we really dont want to redo the kitchen floors. would these floors work with this modern look?

5) could you do everywhere chantilly lace paint: walls, trim, kitchen cabinets, with the understanding that we would use different sheens?

thanks everyone!

Comments (24)

• Boxerpal
    12 days ago

Congratulations on your new beach house. How exciting!!!

I think you could use the same color paint in different sheens and that will actually open up the space and look cohesive. Chantilly lace is like Super White it will be very BRIGHT. Which I happen to love but I wonder if it might fight with your countertop. I assume you are keeping the counters you have? They may look a bit dingy with the bright white color you are thinking of. You might want to be sure this will work by painting a sample. And of course check your BS tile goes with the white you choose.