SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
dina_valko

Quartzite countertops owners. HELP!!!

Dina Valko
3 years ago

Hello everyone! I really need your help and opinion. It's been a month since my dream kitchen nightmare has begun. Long story short, I was asking for a very durable stone, explaining multiple times that I am a professional cook who very often ending up cutting on the countertop surface, and in general very rough to the stone, and I was promised "bulletproof stone'' - the GABRU Quartzite. I fell in love with the stone. Since the fabricator was recommended by very professional house contractor, I was stupid enough to trust the fabricator. At the day of installation, installer installed island countertops and mounted undermount sink, but wasn't able to finish that job because they told me that the floors should be installed first, and only then the waterfall sides, They also installed the main part of the kitchen where the cook top will eventually be installed. And then the guys ran away from the house so fast that I didn't even had a chance to inspect the installed countertop in front of them. Upon my inspection, I discovered that the edges all around of countertops are full of 2-3 mm cracks, dents, and pits, that are flaking when I pick it with a fingernail. The sink cut out is very univen, and the lines are not straight. The edges are horrible, I will attach pictures. The surface itself has many dents and pits, and glass shine is inconsistent. I performed Quartzite test, and it didn't stane, but scratched in many areas easily. I contacted the fabricator right away. The owner came to the job site next day, and tried to convince me that that everything is fine, and they just didn't finish their job yet. And when they finish everything will look good. So my questions are: