SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
abc1971

Garden Question: Fertilizing Liquid Ambar Slender Silhouette Trees

abc1971
4 years ago
last modified: 4 years ago

Hello, all.

I was hoping to get input on beginning a fertilizing regimen for barely one year old trees I planted last August. I've been trying to do my own research and found that you should wait a year before you begin fertilizing. Come next month (April), it will be eight months so it technically hasn't been a full year but from what I read the best times to start fertilizing trees is in April.

I'm no expert but it seems that the best way to determine what your plants need is to have a soil analysis done in order to figure out what your actual soil lacks and then amend it with whatever it needs. But is that truly necessary?

I read on one forum that some people use Jacks 20-20-20 liquid fertilizer and then alternate with a fish emulsion such as Alaska's Fish Fertilizer every ten days and claim to have phenomenal results but this was for fig trees. From what I read, the first number in a fertilizer's profile is Nitrogen and that is what you want to focus on when fertilizing trees. The middle number phosphorus is for flowering/fruiting (which I can see applies to fig trees) And the last number represents potassium/potash. But even though soils typically don't lack this element I read that it is not an actual usable form of potassium for plants and trees.

I will say that I have used the above formula on everything in the past from rose bushes, to shrubs and one Mediterranean palm tree and a nearly 6ft tall rhododendron I rescued from various demolition sites near our home and had really great results. But I've never planted a deciduous tree before and am not sure how to fertilize it.