SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
michelle_marshall18

Newbie Help: Why use 2 pairs for one outlet? Best way to upgrade?

Hi Everyone,

I hope this background info helps, if not you can jump to my question is at the bottom. Thanks so much for your input!

My background:

I have a professional background in low voltage electronics, I am a certified cable installer and have a strong IT background. I know how to fish cables, use a multimeter, read schematics, how series and parallel circuits work and the importance of having a grounded circuit. I am confident i can do basic electrical work with a little guidance. I do not want to call an electrician each time I want to swap out a fixture or upgrade an outlet or switch.

House Background:

I recently purchased a home that was built around 1980, the owner has done many renovations and all electrical work himself. He did a great job and I’m very happy with my new home. During the home inspection though, they had to replace the breaker box / electrical panel because live wires were exposed, and they had to replace the kitchen outlets with GFCI outlets. Once I got the keys, I hired my own electrician to check for potential fire hazards and a few things I noticed, like confusing switch configurations (outdoor security lights on same switch as a closet light, many outlets unnecessarily connected to dimmer switches, 2 switch plates that are a little warm to the touch, rooms with recessed lighting on multiple switches, etc.). I realize that some configurations were customizations that probably worked for the previous owner, but others are clearly the result of shortcuts.

i have a plan with my electrician to fix everything I mentioned above (except the warm switch plates, which he said was a non issue).

Here is my dilemma: