Sourdough starter question

Chris T

This is my first time attempting to make a starter and I will have many questions as the week goes on, but my first one is: can I store the discarded starter on, say, day 3 and beyond, or do I need to wait until it is mature on day 6/7? I am on day 3 today.

Thanks!

Chris

SaveComment26Like
Comments (26)
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
bragu_DSM 5

patience is king ... it gets better yeasty beasties with age [full week].

I have an old pyrex measuring cup that I use for starter, and tape the instructions on the side on an index card.

Save     Thanked by Chris T
plllog

If you search the forum, you'll find a lot of starter info.

You can use your discard as wet flour right away. Baking will kill the microorganisms. Saving it before the yeast has had a chance to dominate means you're growing all kinds of microorganisms freely, but they grow slowly in the fridge. I'd use it up sooner than later, though.

jerzeegirl (FL zone 9B)

If you are an Amazon Prime member with a Kindle, you can download the book Tartine Bread for free. It's well worth it. Chad Robertson goes through the entire process of sourdough baking and it's a great resource for beginners. I am in my third year of sourdough baking (shout out to pillog who helped me get started with detailed instructions which you can find through Gardenweb search). Sourdough baking is one of those endeavors where you just keep on learning as you go.

To answer your question, I would wait until your starter can double in size before using it in a bake. Took about 7 days in my neck of the woods (starting with ground rye flour and switching to King Arthur white). You will know whether you can use it by trying the "float test". Drop a little blob of it in water and it floats it's ready to go.

1 Like Save     Thanked by Chris T
plllog