SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lkayetwvz5

Rating my 2019 bareroot rose orders

lkayetwvz5
5 years ago

First let me say that I have been growing and ordering roses for 40+ years. Without a doubt the overall size of bareroots has gotten smaller and many of you may not remember the huge plants we used to get. This review is only my personal opinion of the plants I received and may difer from your experience completely.

I ordered 20+ roses from 4 different vendors - Regans, Edmunds, Burpee and Hortico. They were predominately David Austin roses with a few floribunda/shrub/HTs. They were an assortment of own root and grafted although as a whole there was very little difference in the size between any order. Except for the Burpee order from sale in Februrary they were all ordered in November of 2018.

Regans - roses were shipped dry with no packing material in a plastic bag. They shipped by the end of March which I had asked for. They were green and there was very little break in dormancy which was good and allowed me to hill them up to protect from frosts and drying out. However all the roses were in my opinion small. The tops were short and the roots cut very short. 6 roses fit in a 5 gallon pail easily for soaking with very little sticking out the top. It's hard to bury a graft 2-3" deep and have much left on top of the ground. Although most were three canes, in over half the plants only one cane has shown growth after a month.

Edmunds - roses were shipped with damp spaghum moss in a plastic bag. Although I could pick no delivery date they were shipped shortly after I received the Regans order and dormancy break was apparent but not excessive. Except for the two DAs the other roses popped out of the hilled ground quickly.