SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_641582809

Repurpose living space/organization

Tara M
5 years ago

Hi, never been on here before but I figure it's the best place for design help! Should I repurpose my dining room or section off an area in my L shaped living room for homeschooling area. We do entertain and have families over for dinner so need place for 10+ people to visit. Could use proper storage units that don't look completely cluttered. We have a bunch of random units now and things are all over the place, as you can see! Any help is so appreciated I'm not good at this stuff and been struggling with it for a year.

Comments (31)

• ilikefriday
    5 years ago
    last modified: 5 years ago

I suggest using your dinning area for most of your home school activities. I homeschool and we do most of our work on the dinning room table and in the kitchen. I would replace the two smaller storage pieces on the left side of your photo with one long credenza to store all your home school materials. I like to have one space for books, paper, and larger items. Then another space for pencils, markers, paper clips, etc. Honestly I typically keep all the current books and papers that we are working on in a dinning chair seat along with a box of pencils and markers. That way it is easily accessed for the next day. When the doorbell rings, I move those few items to a cabinet. If I were you, I would move everything inside a cabinet except maybe the globe.

You could even use two cabinets that are both the same. Something like

this might work. Just make sure that whatever it is, that its sturdy and durable. Capable of holding heavy books and supplies.

• PRO
    Patricia Colwell Consulting
    5 years ago