SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
theresa_peterson82

A tale about organizing ...

Theresa Peterson
last month
last modified: last month

When I was younger /newly married, I bought a long plastic box that could slide under my bed -- used it for wrapping paper. It worked fine ... but in the last 5-6 years I've become dissatisfied with my wrapping storage, and stuff was kinda all over my house: Empty gift bags in the dining room chairs, rolls of paper behind the bedroom door, a whole bag of unopened Christmas paper and ribbons in the guest room closet and who knew what in the attic. I wasn't even using the plastic box.

Then on Pinterest I saw a really cool cart filled with wrapping paper -- oh, so cute! It was a three-drawer Elfa cart on wheels. Ohhh, I wanted it! But the cart was $200. Nooo. So I kept looking, and I found similar organization systems using three-tier carts from Michaels /Hobby Lobby in the $30-40 range. That's acceptable! So I started studying the various Pinterest models, trying to decide what'd work best for me.

The more I planned this project, the more I realized the cart would be inferior to the box under my bed. I'd have to store it in the coat closet, which would mean moving some things that already "live" in that spot. The cart would only hold 8-10 rolls of paper, and they'd be on the side of the cart ... maybe a bit unweildy during movement. And it wouldn't be dust-proof. And, honestly, I don't wrap that many gifts!

Fortunately I figured out -- before I spent any money -- that this project would've been a disaster. Instead I gathered up allll the wrapping items from around the house. When I saw it allll piled up in my living room, I realized the problem was over-consumption and failing to use what I had (which happened because stuff was all over the house, and I didn't know what I had).