SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_97690999

Looking for an HE Powder Detergent - Hamstrung by Indecision

Vasiliki Demmas
5 years ago

Hello,

This is my first time posting, so it is a bit long and rambling;) Since I found this forum a few weeks back, I've been reading through obsessively and thank everyone here for such detailed advice. Adding ammonia, which I learned about on this site (I add it to my FL's LFS dispenser) has greatly improved my quality of life:)

I started down the laundry rabbit hole when I became determined to solve the stinky towel problem. I'd been doing all of the obvious things like leaving the door open, using less detergent, running the "clean" cycle with bleach (that did help - but I'm not one to run a bleach load every week or even month as some do), but then read where one must clean the drain pump filter (mine was really dirty!) - so I found a good YouTube video and did that as well as another thorough clean of all rubber parts.

I felt that I had done the best I could with the machine itself (a 2008 WP Duet Sport which up until now I've despised), and then came across this forum when searching about best laundry practices. So, I started with the ammonia. Since then, I've ordered STPP (hard water, here), considering ordering sodium percarbonate to pair with the ammonia for whitening ( I never bleach and stay away from whites with the exception of my son's baseball pants and generally use Dawn and hydrogen peroxide mix for those awful stains).