SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
editoria

How to get a heavy older TV down the stairs and out of the house?

Alisande
5 years ago

I have a 85-lb. Sony flat-screen (old style, not flat panel) Trinitron CRT TV (c. 2003) that I'd like to dispose of. The weight is unevenly distributed, making it so awkward to carry. It's upstairs, and I can't imagine how I'm going to get it down my old staircase. I thought of offering to pay one of the local farm boys, but I'd hate for them to get injured.

I've had zero experience moving around heavy objects, but maybe the KT has some ideas. Thanks!

Comments (74)

• jemdandy
    5 years ago
    last modified: 5 years ago

A bizarre solution:

I do not recommend this if you are not familiar the procedure or there are hazards present. THIS IS A "JOKE" TYPE OF SOLUTION. It is very likely not practical due to the heavy (85 lb) set. It would be difficult to get it out the window without damaging the window sill.

Find a small table that's about the height of the window sill. Place the table next to a window and put the TV on it. Tape across the TV screen with heavy tape; Duct tape should work. Cover most of the screen area. On the ground below, spread a heavy duty tarp. Raise the window and push the TV out. Make sure that you give it final shove that will send it away from the wall of the house. There should not be any projections on the house that the set might hit on its way down. It will crash on the tarp and the CRT will shatter. Hopefully, the tape will retain most of the pieces. Wrap it up in the trap and dispose.

Do not try this if there are objects next to the drop zone that might be damaged such as a casement window.