SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
2manydiversions

Garlic Scapes Questions

2ManyDiversions
5 years ago

Photos for uploading · More Info

Hi all! This is my first year planting hard neck garlic – planted early last winter with soft necks. We tore out our veggie garden (won’t have another for a couple years) so all garlic had to planted in my tiny herb garden which was already pretty full. I planted a total of 9 early last winter and have maybe 3-4 hard necks only (I’ll go through my garlic in no time!).

Still, I’d like to do something with the few scapes I have. I’ve never used them before and was delighted to read in another post that they were both edible and delicious.

So, do I use the bud part or remove it? My scapes have closed buds and are just beginning to curl (1/2 curl). When do I cut them? Now? Or wait for a full curl/circle? I've read conflicting advice online.

Should I just use them on a pizza since I don’t have many, or could I stretch them and make a wee bit of pesto? The only other way I am aware of is to grill them with bell pepper and onion.

Also, what’s your favorite way to prepare/use scapes?

Thanks!

Comments (37)

• sleevendog (5a NY 6aNYC NL CA)
    5 years ago

Too early for scapes here. Catch them young. Soon they will get woody so once cut down tight to the stem, taste a small slice. It should be tender like fresh asparagus. I use them as I would use garlic or green onions. In a veg sauté, pizza topping, succotash, soup. They freeze ok but I use those for stock. If they go a bit woody I freeze those for stock with leek green tops.

2ManyDiversions thanked sleevendog (5a NY 6aNYC NL CA)
  • beesneeds
    5 years ago

Pick them tender. I'll add in garnish for salads, stirred into eggs, as a small batch of quick pickles... tender scapes are good stuff.

2ManyDiversions thanked beesneeds
  • Related Discussions

Elephant Garlic scape....what do I do?

Q

Comments (10)