SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
rayrob211098

Can someone help me identify?

Ryan Robert
6 years ago

Hello, I just joined this forum, hoping to learn more about cacti and succulents.

So i purchased a succulent the other day, and I'm having a hard time finding its name. As you can see, its not in the best shape haha, I'm still new to this hobby. My question is

1. What type of succulent this is?

and

2. How to care for it?

I'm planning to add it to my succulent terrarium, and I wanna make sure it is healthy before i do anything with it. So far this is how I've been taking care of it.

- It's pretty hot where I live and the soil dries up pretty fast, so i water it 2 to 3 times a week. ( am I over watering? ).

- I made sure it gets at least 5 hours of morning sunlight and would move it to a shade during the afternoon.

Thanks in advanced!

Comments (16)

• greenclaws UK, Zone 8a
    6 years ago

Sorry I can’t ID your plant but need to tell you......planting any kind of c/s in a terrarium isn’t advised. The enclosed conditions create humidity, something that c/s positively hate, it may work very short term, but your plants will decline and die, that I can almost promise you. Terrariums rarely have any drainage holes, a must for any plant! Far better to pot individually in fast draining mixes, half seived perlite half good quality c/s mix is easiest....add a good handful, of grit if you can, aquarium gravel is fine....no sand whatsoever though. No layers, mix everything together. You can even group pots in a larger container of you want that community look, cover rims with stones, rocks pebbles etc.

• Karen S. (7b, NYC)
    6 years ago

Sorry to tell you Greenclaws is absolutely correct about this. Terrariums are great, but need right kind of plants to succeed. Plants for terrariums need to be humidity loving (like tropicals) which succulents are not.