SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
starrprop

Experimenting with 1-1-1 gritty

I'm new to citrus, only five months in. I read here every spare moment I can grab trying to get a grip. I am an organic raised bed veggie person. Never messed with anything in containers. So you can imagine all the mistakes I made. Luckily I discovered that my "magic homemade compost" was turning into a nightmare for the citrus trees I had acquired very quickly before any serious damage occurred. After finding this forum and much researching through many years of discussions I decided to go with the gritty mix. I didn't have any problems finding the ingredients and I sifted out everything under 1/8. I knew I was pushing my luck doing all this bare rooting and repotting in July but was more afraid of root rot. Right after our upper 90's heat wave we had a major cool down so I took the plunge. It was nerve racking to say the least. I couldn't sleep and was out in the yard every hour on the hour all night with a flashlight. After a few days went by and nothing fell over dead I started relaxing a little bit. Then little problems here and there started cropping up. There for a while I decided that I hate this gritty mix and I really regretted it. I just kept coming here and reading sometimes 12 hours a day or more. I finally came to the conclusion that I was way over watering and under fertilizing. I did not like the dowel method at all but kept at it. Now here it is October and I feel like I'm starting to get a grip on this thing. I am really starting to like the gritty mix (a lot). The one thing I don't like about it is when I stick the dowel all the way to the bottom for a few minutes and then pull it out, the bottom half of the pot has plenty of moisture but the top half is pretty much on it's way to being dry. I don't want my little roots near the top to dry out but I don't want to over water either.