SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
irma_t

What is it with men and flowers?

irma
6 years ago

I was out with some lady friends today and the conversation turned into gardening and men. Most said no way are their husbands allowed in their flower beds as they can't tell the difference between a flower and a weed.

This was so true of my late husband. He only knew what a dandelion was and never touched the borders. He was excellent at keeping the lawns cut and watered and took a lot of pride in that.

Comments (49)

• cooper8828
    6 years ago

A lot of men post on the various gardening threads here. None of them live at my house. My husband would be happy if there was just grass, maybe one tree. He is not allowed near the flower beds either!

irma thanked cooper8828
  • jim_1 (Zone 5B)
    6 years ago

The missus has zero idea of what goes on in a garden, whether veggies or flowers or whatevers. That is all me.

Since moving to the gulf coast of Florida last February, I am still learning about how to garden in sand. Nothing like the rich soil of central Illinois.

We travel a lot and we have a service come in to do the mowing. I can tell that they are not happy since they cannot run those monster machines in straight lines now. I have too many new places with plants. Too bad for them.

irma thanked jim_1 (Zone 5B)
  • Related Discussions

Do men and women design gardens in a different way?

Q

Comments (7)