SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
stephrdob

L Shaped Kitchen Layout_ Any Advice Appreciated

stephrdob
7 years ago

My husband and I are building a house. I am trying to make final kitchen plans. This is my first time doing this and it is a little overwhelming. We are contracting the work ourselves and designed the floor plan. I am including the kitchen plan I have and the house floor plan to give context. The ceilings are 96" high. The exterior door opens in. The window in the kitchen is actually one 3' picture window flanked by 2 2' double hung windows all attached together. They are 36" high and begin 48" off the floor. The windows and the door are the only thing that cannot be moved. The plumbing is run to where the sink is planned to be. The island will not have electric or water. I currently have a similar island that I love. I know many people have sinks or cooktops on their islands but I want it mainly so my children can help me cook and we can have a large area to serve food, cook etc. We have 4 children and enjoy having people over to eat but we are very informal. I would like to figure out a way to put more bar stools at the island so my children can all sit there and do homework, chat, eat breakfast etc at the island.

We eat 3 meals a day at home most days and homeschool so our kitchen sees a lot of action. We aren't doing anything fancy but I do use my stove and oven a lot. I do not like cluttered counters so optimizing my storage space is important to me. We are planning to go with ikea cabinets and using all drawers for the bottom cabinets.