SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
skimmton_chi

Small L shaped Kitchen layout offering to the design gods. Help p

skimmton_chi
13 years ago

I'm new at this- have been a lurker for a while & looking for advice on my (hopefully close to final) 12x14 L-shaped kitchen layout. I'm so impressed with all of your beautiful kitchens.

Money is an issue- I would like it to look nice w/o spending too much. Also, this is in the 2nd (top) floor of a 100 yr old small apartment building I own, so I don't want to spend more than is required of the neighborhood. So the following can't be changed:

-Maple flooring

-no changes to exterior except for W. window change to fit lower and upper cabinets

-oven has to stay on W wall for venting

I know it's a bit tight, but I would like an island. I am 6'1" (tall for a girl) & I'd like to prep things where my head isn't facing a cabinet. I'll probably just have 2 stools.

Questions:

1. What do you think of the layout (please let me keep the island! :D)? If I put the fridge in the SW corner, there would be no room to set things down (oven & garbage cabinet being where they are).

2. Is there a standard height of crown cabinet moulding for 42" Shaker cabs? What about 54" cabs (I can get 54" stacked cabs in if I have moulding that is 4" high). I might not do 54" if it is too expensive. I am also worried that 36" is too short, even if there's an 18" above it. Ceilings are 112".

3. Has anyone used a piece of furniture (buffet or other) for an island? My main concern is it being usable and supporting the granite. I like the idea of having a pretty piece of furniture there & thought I could save some $, but wonder if it would cost me just as much to finish the back as to buy new.

4. Any tall people here ever raise their base cabs/ island? By how much? Do you just buy taller toe-kicks?

5. If you inset a fridge & have a fridge cabinet, do you just inset the cabinet too?