SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
melissaaipapa

Foodie or just a cook?

Melissa Northern Italy zone 8
8 years ago
last modified: 8 years ago

I come to this forum once in a while, usually because I have a specific question, at times out of simple curiosity. I have an impression that the people who post here are of two types. One is the "foodie", who researches and experiments food and has high standards. I belong to a different category: I'm just a cook. I mean that I'm a moderately good cook, I like to cook, and I cook, from scratch, most of what I eat, and much of what my family eats. When you cook most of your food, it takes time, as everybody here knows. I like simple recipes. There are a lot of things I don't cook, because I'm vegetarian, because I have to watch cholesterol, because with advancing age I seem to be more sensitive to some foods: wheat, milk, sweets in general. Also I live in Italy and a lot of ingredients that can be found in any decent supermarket in the U.S. aren't available, or not at a reasonable price: soy sauce, tofu, rye flour, molasses, buttermilk, walnuts come to mind. In spite of all these limitations I'd say my family eats an overall tasty, varied, and healthy diet. So, are you a foodie? or just a cook? or are my categories mistaken? What role do cooking and food play in your life?

Comments (33)

• User
    8 years ago

I think the lines are often blurred. And many who would characterize themselves as "just a cook" might be considered foodies by friends and family who don't take as much time and interest in food.

I had a mother who had a gift for creating delicious from-scratch meals and baked goods from simple ingredients. She never would have called herself a foodie. But she took pains to choose good fresh ingredients, prepare them with care, add her own special touches and serve them in a way that, while not at all pretentious, made you feel special. Not a foodie, but more than just a cook.

That's the bar I strive to reach ;)