SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
tvq1

Best detergent for our new FL washer?

tvq1
8 years ago

After MUCH consideration we ordered our new washer and dryer yesterday--front load LG4270. They should be delivered and installed in a couple of weeks.

Now--what detergent should I used? The salesman suggested I stay away from the pod types, as the covering sometimes "gunks" up the machine. His suggestion was a liquid HE detergent--but he wasn't brand specific.

I've been making my own liquid detergent for about 3 years, and we have been very happy with it. Just 3 ingredients: grated Fels Naptha soap, washing soda and borax. My husband is sensitive to scents, so this detergent has been great in that regard. I usually add a scoop Oxyclean to each load of whites. Each salesperson we have asked has said we could use it in our new machine with no problems.

While I'm not hung up on continuing to use the home made detergent, I really like the savings--for about $15 I have over a 3 year supply of laundry soap! I don't want to be penny wise and pound foolish either, so I'm open to buying detergent if that would be safer for our new machine.

Advice? Recommendations?

Thanks,

tvq1

Comments (63)

• izeve
    8 years ago

If you are concerned about cost, then I agree with the Sears powder detergent recommendation. Excellent washing ability and rinses well. The only issue I had with it was fading of darks. So I would not recommend it for dark loads.

I have used a variety of powder and liquid detergents in my front loader and some are definitely better than others. My favorites are European Persil powders (expensive but wonderful), Tide with Bleach (powder), Vaska (liquid). I also like Clorox Green Works and Method liquids (both come in the Free & Clear variety that would be suitable for sensitive skin). I do not like Tide liquid (can't stand the smell of the scented ones and the Free & Clear doesn't rinse well). I also do not like Walmart Persil!